The Day That Changed From Silent To Violent

Abhimanyu Kapoor
4 min readMay 23, 2020

--

Photo by NOAA on Unsplash

It was a Sunday and I was sleeping in my room with my curtains closed so that no sun rays enter my room. I was carefree about what was going on outside. The last thing I wanted was to be disturbed.

The phone rang. I was irritated but picked it up, it was my friend Vishnu. He asked me whether I was done with the project. I realized that I had to do my project and submit it the very next day. Though, I was feeling lazy, I managed to sit up on a chair. I dozed off to sleep on the chair itself. My mother came in and saw me sleeping. She woke me up and said, “Don’t you have to do your project?” I got up, washed my face and started to do my project. My mother came in and said that she had to go visit one of my aunts because she had got a call from her. She also mentioned that she would be back in an hour or two.

I was working on my project when I heard a loud bang and looked out of the window and noticed that it was raining and the sky was dark. I realized that it was the bang of thunder but not like any usual sound, in fact it was much louder. I decided to go to my parent’s room and watch the weather forecast. When I switched on the television the first thing I saw was panic and pandemonium amongst the news reporters. I felt scared because our house was directly in the predicted path of the storm.

I was horrified and immediately tried to call my mother. The call couldn’t connect probably because a telephone tower had collapsed. My next action was to call my dad, which was of no use due to the same reason. The storm was even closer to my house and my heart started to beat really fast now. I wanted to run away but could not, as during a storm alert no one was supposed to get out of their houses. I was confused but something struck me and I decided to get out of my house and go to my grandparents’ house which was about three kilometres away.

I got out of my house. I could see the storm a few streets behind me approaching my house at a really fast speed. It was a matter of life and death. I picked up my bicycle and drove at my top speed. In no time I reached my grandparents’ house. They were extremely happy to see me safe and sound.

Even my grandparents’ house was violently shaking. There were a series of loud bangs. The storm continued the whole night and I was shivering with fear sitting on the bed. It was the worst night of my life. The only thought in my mind was of my family being safe and I was praying to god for that to happen. I was so tired that I could not control sleeping, despite the fact that I was not willing to, because I just wanted to hear the news that my family was safe.

It was morning and the storm had passed. My mother had come home and was shocked seeing it totally destroyed. She burst into tears thinking that I was still there. My dad arrived from his office, where he stayed during the storm alert. My dad believed that when it came to these situations, I took intelligent decisions and I most likely would have gone to my grandparents’ house.

I heard the doorbell ring and woke up. My grandmother opened the door and called me. My joy knew no bounds when I saw my family and I thanked god for listening to all my prayers. I was also really happy that I took the right decision at the right time, which was of coming to my grandparents’ house instead of staying at my house. My parents had the same feeling of being relieved after seeing me safe and sound. My mother said, “All is well that ends well.” She said that because our house was totally destroyed, but our whole family was safe and back together. Our house was built back again and we continued our lives happily, thinking about the positivity in every obstacle that we have to cross, as a part of moving on in life.

After that day one important thing I realized was that, whatever happens to us has to be taken in a positive way and not with a negative attitude because thinking positive will help us take actions whereas thinking negative will be of no use, as the event that has already taken place cannot be changed even if we wanted to. The only thing to do is be calm and think positive.

--

--

Abhimanyu Kapoor

A student wanting to express the colours of life through poems, articles and stories.